Categories
Interior

How to find gelatin substitutes for vegetarians

Related Articles

The traditional process for producing gelatin involves boiling animal tissues and bones until they congeal into a gel-like substance. As such, many seemingly vegetarian items are rendered non-vegetarian by the inclusion of gelatin in their ingredients. Common examples include marshmallows, yogurt, candies, desserts and gel-capsules. Although vegetarian replacements cannot perfectly replicate the thickening and gelling properties of gelatin, products such as agar agar, carrageenan and vegetable gums provide you with a variety of close alternatives.

Agar Agar

One of the most common vegetarian alternatives to gelatin is agar agar. Production of this flavorless thickening agent involves cooking and pressing seaweed, typically until it reaches a powdered or flaked form. Although you can use either of these forms in place of gelatin, you should opt for powdered agar agar for best results. This is because powdered agar agar is a 1-to-1 replacement for gelatin. When using flaked agar agar, you should either grind it before cooking or use approximately three servings of flaked agar agar for every one serving of gelatin.

Carrageenan

Another common vegetarian alternative to gelatin is carrageenan. Commercial preparations of this gelling agent involve washing, boiling and filtering out the solid components of Irish moss seaweed. Carrageenan is obtained either through dehydrating the remaining liquid with alcohol or boiling until a gel is produced, then pressing and drying the gel to create carrageenan powder. Although you can use 1 ounce of carrageenan to gel 1 cup of a liquid, the thickness of the gel depends on the variety. Iota carrageenan is more suitable for soft gels and puddings, while kappa carrageenan is a good replacement for gelatin in harder gel products.

Vegetable Gums

Vegetable gums are common ingredients in ice cream, chewing gum and gluten-free baked goods. Common examples include guar gum and xantham gum. Guar gum is commonly ground or flaked, dissolves in liquids easily and is a very effective thickening agent. However, its gelatin-like properties vary with its quality, temperature and pH. Xantham gum is more effective at increasing a liquid’s viscosity and retains this property at a broader temperature and pH range. Despite xantham’s higher stability, vegetable gums do not retain their gelling and thickening properties as well as gelatin and seaweed-derived alternatives.

Other Alternatives

Other vegetarian gelatin alternatives are neither as common nor as flexible as agar agar, carrageenan and vegetable gums. Pectin is produced by boiling, filtering and dehydrating fruits and fruit peels. Typically made with citrus fruit peels, pectin produces a soft gel and is a common ingredient in jellies, jams and marmalades. Another gelatin alternative commonly present in jellies is konjak. This yam-like plant is a central component of jelly candies and can be dried and pressed to produce a powder, known as konjak flour.

How to Find Gelatin Substitutes for Vegetarians

Unflavored gelatin is used to thicken foods and to act as a food stabilizer. Vegetarians and vegans find substitutes for gelatin when it’s called for in a recipe because gelatin is made by boiling the tissues and bones from pigs and cattle. Although some of these substitutes might sound exotic, they are sold in American stores.

Kudzu

Kudzu is a fast-growing tuberous vine (meaning it contains enlarged pods that contain nutrients for the vine) found in Eastern Asia and the Southeastern region of the United States. The starchy powder that’s made from the vine’s roots can be used as a thickening agent.

Pectin and Sugar

Combine pectin and sugar to make a gelatin substitute. Pectin is the primary material that binds cell walls in fruit. Because of their chemical compositions, when pectin and sugar are warmed and blended, they form a gel.

Arrowroot

Arrowroot is an herb that grows in rain forests. Like kudzu, its tuberous roots are harvested to produce a starchy powder. Arrowroot is found in such foods as Korean noodles, fruit gels and cakes.

Agar Agar

Agar Agar, a material that’s extracted from the Gelidium species of red seaweed, is known for its strong gelling ability. It also has an advantage over gelatin: Agar agar does not require refrigeration, but forms into a gel after sitting at room temperature for about 60 minutes.

How to Find Gelatin Substitutes for Vegetarians

What is gelatin, how is it made and where is it traditionally used?

Gelatin is derived from collagen, which is the primary protein component of connective tissues such as bone, dermis, cartilage and tendons. It is used as a thickening agent in many food products including jellies, marshmallows, chewy lollies (gummy bears, jelly beans etc.), cereals, dairy products and desserts. Gelatin is also used as a capsule for many vitamins and medications and in cosmetics as it is translucent, colourless and almost tasteless. It is widely available in sheets, powders, and granules.

Does gelatin have health properties and if so, what are they?

Gelatin has been reported to have beneficial biological functions for some time that justifies its use in food products, supplements and pharmaceutical preparations. Orally consumed gelatin has been shown to be involved in cartilage matrix synthesis (building new cartilage) and as such, is considered efficacious in the reduction of joint pain associated with osteoarthritis. Oral administration of gelatin has also been shown to have positive effects on skin, hair growth and nail quality. A word of caution here however, as the study design quality tends to be poor and performed in rats. Most researchers advocate for further studies.

There is also some promising research in the use of dietary gelatin for increasing bone mineral density (BMD), with researchers reporting improvements in BMD in mice who have had their ovaries removed, growing rats, calcium deficient rats and low protein-fed rats.

In line with the new-age trend in medical research, gelatin’s use as an anti-inflammatory is also being studied, particularly in digestive conditions such as Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD). The anti-inflammatory properties are thought to be the result of gelatin’s predominant metabolites (prolyl-hydroxyproline and glycine). These metabolites have been shown to improve anti-tumour markers and upregulate the production of certain interleukins, which are a class of glycoproteins involved in regulating immune responses. Interestingly however, researchers found these effects were improved when ingested as free compounds than as part of gelatin.

Is gelatin suitable for vegetarians?

Unfortunately for vegetarians and vegans, the traditional process for producing gelatin involves boiling animal tissues and bones, particularly bovine hide, bone and pigskin, until they congeal into a gel-like substance.

Are there any suitable substitutes?

Fortunately, there are suitable vegetarian and vegan alternatives that mimic gelatin’s thickening property in foods. These have been listed below. As yet, there is no suitable vegetarian substitute to that achieves the purported health benefits of orally ingested gelatin.

  1. Agar agar – One of the most common vegetarian alternatives to gelatin is agar agar. Production of this flavorlessly thickening agent involves cooking and pressing seaweed, typically until it reaches a powdered or flaked form.
  2. Carrageenan – Commercial preparations of this gelling agent involve washing, boiling and filtering out the solid components of Irish moss seaweed. Carrageenan is obtained either through dehydrating the remaining liquid with alcohol or boiling until a gel is produced, then pressing and drying the gel to create carrageenan powder.
  3. Vegetable gums – Common examples include guar gum and xantham gum. Guar gum is commonly ground or flaked, dissolves in liquids easily and is a very effective thickening agent. However, its gelatin-like properties vary with its quality, temperature and pH. Xantham gum is more effective at increasing a liquid’s viscosity and retains this property at a broader temperature and pH range.
  4. Pectin – Pectin is made from fruit skins and rinds. They are boiled, filtered, and dehydrated into a soft gel. Because it’s made from fruit, it’s often used to thicken jams, jellies, and marmalades. That thickening power is why pectin-rich fruit can replace eggs in baking. Pectin needs sugar and a bit of acidity such as lemon juice to gel properly.
  5. Konjak – Another gelatin alternative commonly present in jellies is konjak. This yam-like plant is a central component of jelly candies and can be dried and pressed to produce a powder, known as konjak flour.

If you need a little extra help finding a healthy balance for you, consider seeking the help of an Accredited Practising Dietitian for tailored advice. A healthier, happier you starts with just one phone call to 1800 567 348. Alternatively you can register your interest online.

Keyword Analysis

Keyword CPC PCC Volume Score Length of keyword
gelatin substitute 1.74 0.1 4573 25 18
gelatin 1.92 0.8 2560 57 7
substitute 1.16 0.4 2723 67 10

Keyword Research: People who searched gelatin substitute also searched

Keyword CPC PCC Volume Score
gelatin substitute 1.68 0.1 3852 26
gelatin substitute cornstarch 1.95 0.3 4708 73
gelatin substitutes for vegans 1.39 0.8 3417 39
gelatin substitute vegan 1.83 0.5 2724 39
gelatin substitute pectin 0.44 0.2 4304 26
gelatin substitute crossword 1.42 0.8 5466 48
gelatin substitute for eggs 1.66 0.2 4735 11
gelatin substitute for baking 0.09 0.3 6611 29
gelatin substitute in cooking 0.31 0.6 5142 31
gelatin substitute agar amount 1.48 0.4 9608 80
gelatin substitute for gummies 1.83 0.8 3575 79
gelatin substitute from seaweed 0.32 0.5 1061 96
gelatin substitute crossword clue 0.71 0.9 7752 32
gelatin substitute made from seaweed 1.71 0.7 7259 74

Search Results related to gelatin substitute on Search Engine

goodfoodfun.com

Pectin is another substitute for gelatin that you can use. It is natural and vegan. Pectin is commonly used in jams and jellies and also in yogurts. For this substitute to perform well, it needs sugar or acid to start the gelling process. Pectin is a good substitute for making foams and jellies and other recipes with the same consistency.

organicfacts.net

Gelatin substitutes are relatively easy to find and the consistency of gelatin is also easy to mimic. Although understanding the best gelatin substitutes is particularly important if you do a lot of baking! Gelatin Substitutes. Gelatin is a protein derived from the connective tissues of animals. It is used in cooking and baking, primarily as a thickener for liquids.

thekitchn.com

Gelatin is made from animal collagen, but if you’re a vegetarian or vegan, you can still make these delicious desserts. Here are three great gelatin alternatives and some tips on using them! Note: The substitution amounts given below are just a rule of thumb.

tastessence.com

Gelatin is a protein derived from the hydrolysis of the connective tissues of animals. It has found a wide range of applications in the manufacturing of food, cosmetics, and pharmaceuticals. Find out what can be used to substitute this product in a recipe, through this Tastessence write-up.

authorityhealthmag.com

While using guar gum as a substitute for gelatin you need to adopt a different approach. For the gelatin substitution, use guar gum in a measure of 1/6 portion of gelatin supposed to be used in the recipe. This ratio may not be exact for all recipes, this need to be played around little to get the right consistency. Related Articles For You

wikihow.com

To find gelatin substitutes as a vegetarian, try using agar agar, which you can substitute for gelatin powder at an equal ratio. You can also use carrageenan, also called Irish moss. Just add 1 ounce of carrageenan for each cup of liquid, boil the mixture for 10 minutes, and then strain out the carrageenan.

leaf.tv

Combine pectin and sugar to make a gelatin substitute. Pectin is the primary material that binds cell walls in fruit. Because of their chemical compositions, when pectin and sugar are warmed and blended, they form a gel. Arrowroot. Arrowroot is an herb that grows in rain forests. Like kudzu, its tuberous roots are harvested to produce a starchy .

spiceography.com

Gelatin powder is usually easy to find and easy to use; however, there are several reasons why you may not want to include it in your food.For example, the fact that it is made from animal cartilage and ligaments will rule it out as an ingredient for vegans. Try one of the gelatin powder substitutes below if you need an alternative that has similar properties.

the-crossword-solver.com

‘GELATIN SUBSTITUTE’ is a 17 letter phrase starting with G and ending with E Crossword clues for ‘GELATIN SUBSTITUTE’ Clue Answer; Gelatin substitute (4) AGAR: Jelly type (4) Food thickener (4) Thickening agent used in ice cream (4) Seaweed jelly (4) Gelatinous substance (4)

How to Find Gelatin Substitutes for Vegetarians

What is gelatin, how is it made and where is it traditionally used?

Gelatin is derived from collagen, which is the primary protein component of connective tissues such as bone, dermis, cartilage and tendons. It is used as a thickening agent in many food products including jellies, marshmallows, chewy lollies (gummy bears, jelly beans etc.), cereals, dairy products and desserts. Gelatin is also used as a capsule for many vitamins and medications and in cosmetics as it is translucent, colourless and almost tasteless. It is widely available in sheets, powders, and granules.

Does gelatin have health properties and if so, what are they?

Gelatin has been reported to have beneficial biological functions for some time that justifies its use in food products, supplements and pharmaceutical preparations. Orally consumed gelatin has been shown to be involved in cartilage matrix synthesis (building new cartilage) and as such, is considered efficacious in the reduction of joint pain associated with osteoarthritis. Oral administration of gelatin has also been shown to have positive effects on skin, hair growth and nail quality. A word of caution here however, as the study design quality tends to be poor and performed in rats. Most researchers advocate for further studies.

There is also some promising research in the use of dietary gelatin for increasing bone mineral density (BMD), with researchers reporting improvements in BMD in mice who have had their ovaries removed, growing rats, calcium deficient rats and low protein-fed rats.

In line with the new-age trend in medical research, gelatin’s use as an anti-inflammatory is also being studied, particularly in digestive conditions such as Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD). The anti-inflammatory properties are thought to be the result of gelatin’s predominant metabolites (prolyl-hydroxyproline and glycine). These metabolites have been shown to improve anti-tumour markers and upregulate the production of certain interleukins, which are a class of glycoproteins involved in regulating immune responses. Interestingly however, researchers found these effects were improved when ingested as free compounds than as part of gelatin.

Is gelatin suitable for vegetarians?

Unfortunately for vegetarians and vegans, the traditional process for producing gelatin involves boiling animal tissues and bones, particularly bovine hide, bone and pigskin, until they congeal into a gel-like substance.

Are there any suitable substitutes?

Fortunately, there are suitable vegetarian and vegan alternatives that mimic gelatin’s thickening property in foods. These have been listed below. As yet, there is no suitable vegetarian substitute to that achieves the purported health benefits of orally ingested gelatin.

  1. Agar agar – One of the most common vegetarian alternatives to gelatin is agar agar. Production of this flavorlessly thickening agent involves cooking and pressing seaweed, typically until it reaches a powdered or flaked form.
  2. Carrageenan – Commercial preparations of this gelling agent involve washing, boiling and filtering out the solid components of Irish moss seaweed. Carrageenan is obtained either through dehydrating the remaining liquid with alcohol or boiling until a gel is produced, then pressing and drying the gel to create carrageenan powder.
  3. Vegetable gums – Common examples include guar gum and xantham gum. Guar gum is commonly ground or flaked, dissolves in liquids easily and is a very effective thickening agent. However, its gelatin-like properties vary with its quality, temperature and pH. Xantham gum is more effective at increasing a liquid’s viscosity and retains this property at a broader temperature and pH range.
  4. Pectin – Pectin is made from fruit skins and rinds. They are boiled, filtered, and dehydrated into a soft gel. Because it’s made from fruit, it’s often used to thicken jams, jellies, and marmalades. That thickening power is why pectin-rich fruit can replace eggs in baking. Pectin needs sugar and a bit of acidity such as lemon juice to gel properly.
  5. Konjak – Another gelatin alternative commonly present in jellies is konjak. This yam-like plant is a central component of jelly candies and can be dried and pressed to produce a powder, known as konjak flour.

If you need a little extra help finding a healthy balance for you, consider seeking the help of an Accredited Practising Dietitian for tailored advice. A healthier, happier you starts with just one phone call to 1800 567 348. Alternatively you can register your interest online.

Gelatin is made from animal bones and connective tissues; out of bounds for vegetarians for that reason.

How to Find Gelatin Substitutes for Vegetarians

traffic lights gelatin dessert

Gelatin is used to make delicious desserts and other cold dishes. Are there any substitution for gelatin suitable for vegetarians?

Vegetarian substitutes for gelatin

Have you ever had that fun and colorful gelatin snack called Jell-O? It is fruity and low calorie so you can eat is as a dessert with whipped cream and not hit a blood sugar spike. But vegetarians who use gelatin alone or in recipes need an alternative to make it happen.

You may not know it but gelatin is composed mostly of bone – animal bone to be exact. There are other animal parts in the ground powder as well. Suffice it to say, anyone who calls themselves a vegetarian or vegan won’t use it.

You might say that they can just avoid eating gelatin for dessert, but gelatin is used in a variety of other ways and recipes. For one, gelatin is a substance that “sets up” in foods. It forms a gel as it cools down from a high temperature. It is that gel that can be used for fruit compote, marmalades, jellies, cheesecakes, mousses and other desserts. For vegetarians, there are a few non-animal sources that are available.

Guar Gum – You may have heard of this one as an additive in some foods. It is a thickener that can be used to replace gelatin. You can find it in ice cream and pudding. It comes from the guar plant, native to Pakistan. Guar gum binds with water easily, so that your recipes won’t fall out of solution later leaving you with a mess.

Agar Agar – It’s so good they had to name it twice. This has the same effect as gelatin. It comes from seaweed and has no flavor in and of itself, but takes on the flavors of the dish it is used in. You can buy it as flakes, bars or powder. If it is a bar, grind it up first before cooking it. When you use it to create a gelatin mold, be careful if you add fruit. Acidity makes it fall apart. To offset that, add more agar agar to the mixture so it sets properly in your recipe.

Kosher gelatin – Like other kosher foods, it is prepared a certain way according to Jewish tradition. This gelatin contains no animal products.

Carrageen – Also a product of seaweed, it is found mostly in Europe. The seaweed is dried so you will have to soak it in water to return it to its shape. Then, boil it with the liquid you want to set and remove the carrageen before the gel starts to get stiff.

Xanthan gum – This comes from a corn extract. It is a thickening agent that is popular in puddings.

These products can be found at whole foods stores and health food stores. Only specialty supermarkets may carry the more common ones. Follow package instructions to get the right consistency for your gelatin substitute.

You can prepare delicious gelatin desserts for vegetarians with the right substitute suitable for a vegetarian diet.

A comment about your article on gelating substitutes for vegetarians.

From: Jenny

In the article about substitutes for gelatin for vegetarians, it’s stated that kosher gelating does not contain animal products. From my experience, this is not correct. Kosher gelating can be made out of many different products, both animal derived and non animal derived. The animal sources include fish and kosher beef.

–> –> I am a vegetarian. No, I’m not going to shove my opinion that being a vegetarian is great down your throats. I am here to open peoples eyes to how difficult it is to find certain products that are vegetarian friendly.

I know what you’re thinking, there are lots of alternatives out there for vegetarians that are easily available. Sure, if you’re talking about meat alternatives, that is true. Well, I was prepared to give up meat when I became a vegetarian, that’s kind of the idea. I was not however, prepared for the sheer amount of confectionery and sweet foods in general, I would have to give up.

Confused? Well, at first, I was too. You see many foods require to be spongy or soft or gelatinous, such as marshmallows, or the little jelly cola bottles. Well the ingredient used by most mainstream companies, is a product called gelatin (sometimes gelatin). It is a product made from boiling up bones, and skins and more uncommonly, hooves and horns. The collagen seeps out from these materials and the water turns into gelatin. Obviously there’s more to it than that, but that is the basic idea.

How to Find Gelatin Substitutes for Vegetarianschocolate mousse – had pork gelatin in it.

Obviously this isn’t acceptable to most vegetarians (and in some cases, some religions), and many unknowingly consume it. It was just the other day I almost ate a chocolate mousse, only to realise that, this too, had pork gelatin in it.

Now, my main issue with this, is that there are many many alternatives to using gelatin. To name a few: Agar-Agar, Biobin, Guar, Xanthan and Carob fruit. These all have the same properties as gelatin, yet companies refuse to use these sources. It wouldn’t change the taste, most of them aren’t hard to produce, and I’m sure they lose a rather large amount of customers because of it.

I’ve made several mold (shaped) desserts with both gelatin and gelatin substitutes, and the substitutes have always failed to hold the shape of fully domed chocolate molds and the like. Are there any real vegetarian substitutes here, or only relatively weak alternatives?

The primary subsitite I’ve used is agar-agar. Some others are suggested here, but I have no experience with them. (A good comment below suggests that is not the best link b/c all the non-agar substitutes listed at this link are just thickeners.

5 Answers 5

This depends on what you mean by a gelatin “substitute”.

What you have to understand is that while most hydrocolloids have gelling and stabilizing properties, they are not simply interchangeable. You can’t substitute one of them 1-for-1 where you need gelatin and expect everything to just work.

A great place to start would be the Hydrocolloid Recipe Collection which, despite its name, is almost more of a cookbook, because it has detailed information on the properties of each hydrocolloid.

Agar is actually a stronger gelling agent than gelatin in the sense of having to use less of it to get the same strength, but you need to use it properly. The most important property of agar is that unlike gelatin, which gives hydration at temperatures as low as 50° C, agar requires a temperature of 90° C. In other words, you need to heat the water all the way to a rapid boil before the agar will actually “activate”. A light simmer is not enough.

The other notable property of agar is syneresis, which is the loss of moisture over time. Agar sets extremely fast compared to gelatin and above room temperature, but unless you combine it with a small amount of Locust bean gum, it will actually dry out. Otherwise, though, you can absolutely, definitely substitute agar-agar for gelatin if you actually get pure agar (I made the mistake of buying the “dessert agar” once, which is not the same thing) and hydrate/set it properly. In fact, the biggest concern with using agar as a substitute for gelatin is that you might end up with something too stiff, since gelatin produces a much softer gel.

Perhaps the closest hydrocolloid to gelatin in terms of its properties is iota type carrageenan. Here’s a side-by-side comparison of the most important characteristics (this is all taken from the HRC):

You should be able to see by this how much closer carrageenan is to gelatin; trouble is, it’s difficult to find, and you have to get the right kind (the kappa type and other types have very different properties).

There’s actually an even better type of carrageenan to use a gelatin substitute, if you can find it: It’s called Ceambloom 3240 and it’s specifically designed to be a gelatin replacement.

I’d like to also note for the record that the answer in your ochef link is not really appropriate for gelatin desserts that need to hold their shape. Xanthan gum is a fantastic and versatile hydrocolloid but (to the best of my knowledge) it does not “set” the way that gelatin, agar, or carrageenan do. It’s more of a thickener/emulsifier/stabilizer, at its highest concentrations being used to produce foams (but not gels). It’s often used to stabilize other gels/foams but I’ve never heard of it being used to create a gel on its own.

Guar gum is also largely just a thickener, that you could use a stabler replacement for corn starch or arrowroot, which is also mentioned in that answer. None of these are appropriate at all for gels (desserts), they are only useful as thickeners.

Written by: Rae Williams

Written on: July 14, 2020

gummy bears image by egal from Fotolia.com

Because it is an animal product, gelatin is not suitable for vegans or vegetarians. When cooking or baking, it can sometimes be difficult to find a replacement that faithfully recreates the thickness and texture. Gelatin and pectin are both gelling agents used in food preparation.

Because it is an animal product, gelatin is not suitable for vegans or vegetarians. When cooking or baking, it can sometimes be difficult to find a replacement that faithfully recreates the thickness and texture.

Differences

Gelatin and pectin are both gelling agents used in food preparation. Gelatin is made from collagen derived from animal bones and tissues. Pectin is a naturally occurring thickening agent found in fruit, particularly apples and citrus fruits.

Both agents are used in cooking. Gelatin dissolves in water and is used in desserts like gelatin, pudding and mousse to provide thickness and stability. Pectin requires sugar and acid to gel properly and is typically only used in jams and jellies where these occur naturally in the fruit.

Considerations

Pectin can be used as a gelatin substitute, but is not generally recommended due to the acid and sugar required for proper gelling. It can be tricky to get the right flavour and texture. The Vegetarian Society suggests agar or carageenan, both of which are derived from seaweed. Like gelatin, they are flavourless and only require water to work. They also are considered easier to use.

Last Updated: January 8, 2020 References

This article was co-authored by our trained team of editors and researchers who validated it for accuracy and comprehensiveness. wikiHow’s Content Management Team carefully monitors the work from our editorial staff to ensure that each article is backed by trusted research and meets our high quality standards.

There are 16 references cited in this article, which can be found at the bottom of the page.

This article has been viewed 103,805 times.

The decision to stop eating meat is a very personal one. You might be concerned about animal welfare, environmental impacts, or your own health. Regardless of your reason for giving up meat, you’ll be more likely to stick with it if you create achievable goals, replace the meat with nutritious food, and find a diet that works for you. Remember that giving up meat will take some adjustment, so don’t stop trying if you relapse or crave meat.

How to Find Gelatin Substitutes for Vegetarians

\u00a9 2020 wikiHow, Inc. All rights reserved. wikiHow, Inc. is the copyright holder of this image under U.S. and international copyright laws. This image is not licensed under the Creative Commons license applied to text content and some other images posted to the wikiHow website. This image may not be used by other entities without the express written consent of wikiHow, Inc.
\n

How to Find Gelatin Substitutes for Vegetarians

\u00a9 2020 wikiHow, Inc. All rights reserved. wikiHow, Inc. is the copyright holder of this image under U.S. and international copyright laws. This image is not licensed under the Creative Commons license applied to text content and some other images posted to the wikiHow website. This image may not be used by other entities without the express written consent of wikiHow, Inc.
\n

How to Find Gelatin Substitutes for Vegetarians

\u00a9 2020 wikiHow, Inc. All rights reserved. wikiHow, Inc. is the copyright holder of this image under U.S. and international copyright laws. This image is not licensed under the Creative Commons license applied to text content and some other images posted to the wikiHow website. This image may not be used by other entities without the express written consent of wikiHow, Inc.
\n

How to Find Gelatin Substitutes for Vegetarians

\u00a9 2020 wikiHow, Inc. All rights reserved. wikiHow, Inc. is the copyright holder of this image under U.S. and international copyright laws. This image is not licensed under the Creative Commons license applied to text content and some other images posted to the wikiHow website. This image may not be used by other entities without the express written consent of wikiHow, Inc.
\n

How to Find Gelatin Substitutes for Vegetarians

\u00a9 2020 wikiHow, Inc. All rights reserved. wikiHow, Inc. is the copyright holder of this image under U.S. and international copyright laws. This image is not licensed under the Creative Commons license applied to text content and some other images posted to the wikiHow website. This image may not be used by other entities without the express written consent of wikiHow, Inc.
\n

Tip: Consider telling friends and family that you’re going to stop eating meat. They may be a support network that you can turn to if you continue to struggle.

by John Staughton (BASc, BFA) last updated – March 13, 2020 вњ“ Evidence Based

Gelatin substitutes are relatively easy to find and the consistency of gelatin is also easy to mimic. Although understanding the best gelatin substitutes is particularly important if you do a lot of baking!

Gelatin Substitutes

Gelatin is a protein derived from the connective tissues of animals. It is used in cooking and baking, primarily as a thickener for liquids. When heated, gelatin is a liquid, but as it cools it will thicken into a solid. Most people are familiar with the use of gelatin in ice creams, marshmallows , custards , and pies. However, many people who embrace a vegan or vegetarian diet prefer to use one of the many non-animal based substitutes available such as arrowroot, agar, xanthan gum, guar gum, and carrageen among others.

Arrowroot

Arrowroot is a starchy powder ground from African arrowroot tubers. It is used in a similar fashion to cornstarch . It will help thicken sauces and jams, and when added to ice cream, it prevents ice crystals. However, too much will taste starchy in the recipe, and it does not firm up into a solid the way that gelatin does. It is also not suggested for non-frozen dairy products.

How to Find Gelatin Substitutes for Vegetarians

Guar gum is extracted from guar beans. Photo Credit: Shutterstock

Agar, also known as Japanese moss, is a seaweed derivative that liquifies when melted but cools into a solid. It has no taste, no color, and no smell, making it a perfect substitute for gelatin. It even cools to a more solid density than gelatin. One teaspoon of agar will replace one teaspoon of gelatin.

Xanthan Gum

Xanthan gum is made from fermented corn, processed and then dried into a fine powder. It is used as an additive in many industrial food products as a thickener and emulsifier. It binds water to solids and is used to thicken pie fillings and increase dough elasticity. However, like arrowroot, xanthan gum will not cool to a solid the way gelatin will. One teaspoon of xanthan gum will substitute for two teaspoons of gelatin.

Guar Gum

Guar gum is made from guar beans that have been husked, milled, and then dried to a fine white powder. It is primarily used as a thickener and a stabilizer in cheese, pannacotta, and ice creams. One benefit of guar gum is that it does not require heat to act as a thickener. One teaspoon of guar gum will substitute for two and a half teaspoons of gelatin.

Carrageen

Carrageen is a seaweed extract that is used primarily in vegan gel products. It has no flavor, but gives a softer set to recipes , so it’s best used as a gelatin substitute in soft custards, mousses, and creams. One ounce of carrageen will set into one cup of liquid.

How to Find Gelatin Substitutes for Vegetarians

John Staughton is a traveling writer, editor, publisher and photographer with English and Integrative Biology degrees from the University of Illinois in Champaign-Urbana (USA). He co-founded the literary journal, Sheriff Nottingham, and now serves as the Content Director for Stain’d Arts, a non-profit based in Denver, Colorado. On a perpetual journey towards the idea of home, he uses words to educate, inspire, uplift and evolve.

It’s probably no coincidence that gelatin rhymes with skeleton—because that’s exactly what it is—animal bones (along with animal skin, hooves, tendons, ligaments, and cartilage all boiled together into a goo that’s added to all kinds of candy and baked goods). Luckily, there are plenty of easy-to-find products that act like gelatin, so that baking doesn’t have to be bad to the bone.

This flavorless gelling agent, derived from cooked and pressed seaweed, is available flaked, powdered, or in bars. For best results, grind the agar-agar in a coffee grinder or food processor and then cook it, stirring it regularly until it dissolves. When used in a recipe, agar-agar sets in about an hour and doesn’t require refrigeration to gel. For a firmer gel, add more agar-agar, and for a softer gel, add more liquid. And don’t worry if you don’t get it right the first time—you can fix a faux pas simply by reheating the gel. Here’s a general guide on how to use agar in recipes:

• Substitute powdered agar-agar for gelatin using equal amounts.

• 1 Tbsp. of agar-agar flakes is equal to 1 tsp. of agar-agar powder.

• Set 2 cups of liquid using 2 tsp. of agar-agar powder, 2 Tbsp. of agar-agar flakes, or one bar.

• Keep in mind that highly acidic ingredients, such as lemons, strawberries, oranges, and other citrus fruits, may require more agar-agar than the recipe calls for. Also, enzymes in fresh mangoes, papaya, and pineapple break down the gelling ability of the agar-agar so that it will not set. Cooking these fruits before adding them to a recipe, however, neutralizes the enzymes so that the agar-agar can set.

Also known as Irish moss, this seaweed, found in coastal waters near Ireland, France, and North America, is best when used for making softer gels and puddings. To prepare carrageen, rinse it thoroughly, and then soak it in water until it swells. Add the carrageen to the liquid you want to set, boil for 10 minutes, and remove the carrageen. One ounce of carrageen will gel 1 cup of liquid.

Many kosher gelatins are vegan. Try Lieber’s unflavored gel, Carmel’s unsweetened gel, KoJel’s unflavored gel, and Hain Superfruits.

Don’t forget to check out our vegan shopping guide and delicious recipes, including the gelatin-free jello recipe pictured below.

Gelatin is a protein derived from the hydrolysis of the connective tissues of animals. It has found a wide range of applications in the manufacturing of food, cosmetics, and pharmaceuticals. Find out what can be used to substitute this product in a recipe, through this Tastessence write-up.

How to Find Gelatin Substitutes for Vegetarians

Gelatin is a protein derived from the hydrolysis of the connective tissues of animals. It has found a wide range of applications in the manufacturing of food, cosmetics, and pharmaceuticals. Find out what can be used to substitute this product in a recipe, through this Tastessence write-up.

How to Find Gelatin Substitutes for Vegetarians

How to Find Gelatin Substitutes for Vegetarians

Gelatin is a protein, which is derived from the partial hydrolsis of connective tissues. It is usually a brittle, colorless, and translucent solid that melts when heated, but becomes solid on cooling. Commercially, it is produced from the connective tissues, bones, and organs of horses, cattle, and pigs. It is mainly used as a food additive, and also for manufacturing cosmetics and pharmaceuticals.

It is also used in photography. Food products that usually contain gelatin are, gelatin desserts, certain candies, trifles, aspic, certain low-fat yogurt, jams, margarine, cream cheese, and marshmallows. Gelatin is available in different grades, which can be used as a gelling agent, stabilizer, and as a thickener. As this product is derived from animal tissues and organs, vegetarians look for its substitutes that can be used in cooking. The following are some products that can replace gelatin in a recipe.

Replacing Gelatin While Cooking

Agar-agar

Agar-agar is a seaweed derivative that becomes gelatinous when heated or dissolved in water. It melts at a comparatively higher temperature. Agar-agar, also known as agar, kanten, and Japanese moss, is actually a polysaccharide that is derived from the cell wall of certain red algae of the genera Gelidium. More commonly, the species Gelidium amansii is used for producing agar commercially.

Agar-agar needs to be soaked in water or liquid for a few minutes, and then boiled until it dissolves completely. The liquid should be stirred frequently while boiling. On cooling, agar-agar become gelatinous, and then it can be used as a thickening agent in making ice-creams, desserts, jellies, and soups.

Arrowroot

Arrowroot or Maranta arundinacea is actually a perennial herb that thrives in rainforests. It is also the name of the edible starchy powder, which is obtained from the tuber or rhizome of the African arrowroot. It is basically used to make fruit gels. It can also be used as a thickener for making sauces, especially fruits sauces. If added to ice-creams, arrowroot can help prevent the formation of ice crystals. It is also added to puddings, cakes, hot sauces, biscuits, and Korean noodles.

Guar Gum

Guar gum is obtained from guar beans or cluster beans. To prepare guar gum, guar seeds are milled and then screened after removing the husk. Guar gum comes in the form of a coarse or fine white powder, and it can be used as a stabilizer in dairy products, like cheese and ice-creams, and also in cold-meat processing. When added to ice-creams, it can prevent the formation of ice crystals. Guar gum is actually a polysaccharide of galactose and mannose. It can be used as an emulsifier and as a stabilizer.

Kudzu

Kudzu is the name of the plant Pueraria lobata, which is a member of the genus Pueraria and the family, Fabaceae. The plant possess tuberous roots that are used to make a starchy powder that can be used as a thickener.

Sometimes, xanthan gum (a corn extract) and certain goundnuts are also used to substitute gelatin in various food items. In addition to these, vegetarians can use certain kosher gelatin, which are not made from animal tissues or organs. However, some kosher gelatin can contain animal products.

Did you know that many lollies and types of jelly contain gelatin made from animals? This means it’s not suitable for vegans and vegetarians. Luckily, they don’t have to go without because there are many vegan gelatin substitutes so you can have your vegan jelly and eat it too!

What is gelatin?

Gelatin is made of collagen that is sourced from a variety of animal by-products. In Australia, these animal by-products come from boiling the skin, joints and tendons from pig, horse hooves and bones from animals (usually cattle). Gelatin has several uses. It can be used as a thickener, gelling agent, and stabiliser in cooking. Gelatin can be found in a lot of products and industries, from lollies to jelly and cosmetic products to photography.

Because it is made from animal products, gelatin is not suitable for vegans and vegetarians. Instead they use vegan gelatin substitutes.

Is vegan gelatin healthy?

Vegan gelatin alternatives are perfectly healthy as substitutes are often plant based, making them as natural as meat based gelatin, although both kinds require some processing. Regular gelatin contains collagen and this is an essential nutrient for the human body with health benefits , meaning many health professionals recommend it’s intake. However, it’s important to note that the human body naturally produces collagen, and that foods gelatin is added to aren’t always healthy themselves, negating the health benefits of the collagen in it.

Vegetarian and vegan gelatin substitutes have many of the same health benefits as regular gelatin and there are few known health risks associated with it. The choice between the two simply comes down to lifestyle.

Brands that use vegan gelatin

Some Australian brands use vegan gelatin powder in products such as marshmallows, gummy bears, lollies and jelly (which can be used to make jello shots) already, below is a list of products with vegetarian-friendly gelatin in the ingredients:

  • Aeroplane Glitter Jelly – Berry Blue, Lime and Strawberry flavours
  • Macro vegan jelly
  • Dandies All Natural Vanilla Marshmallows
  • Skittles
  • Eco Vital Gummy Bears
  • Licorice twists – Coles Brand (original and strawberry) and Darrell Lea (black, raspberry and grape)
  • Hubba Bubba bubblegum
  • Sour straps – Homebrand and X-treme brands
  • Sour Patch Kids
  • Wonka Long-lasting Gobstoppers

Best vegan gelatin substitutes

1. Agar Agar

What is it? Agar Agar is a type of red seaweed from Japan.

How similar is it to gelatin? Agar Agar is sold in powder form and is one of the most popular vegan gelatin swaps as it can be substituted for gelatin at a simple ratio of 1:1. It is a firmer setting agent and is flavourless.

Where can I buy it? Agar Agar can be bought from health food stores online or instore. Harris Farm stocks Agar Agar for $17.99 for 75g.

What can I cook with it? Agar Agar can be used to make jelly , panna cotta , jam and as a soup or stew thickener. Agar Agar is one of the best vegan gelatins for making marshmallows .

How to Find Gelatin Substitutes for Vegetarians

2. Carrageenan

What is it? Carrageenan, also known as Carrageen or Irish Moss, is a type of dried seaweed.

How similar is it to gelatin? Unlike regular gelatin or Agar Agar, Carrageenan is a soft setting gelling agent. This results in more ‘melt in your mouth’ textured recipes. It is flavourless and can be bought in powder form, or dried seaweed form. If using dried seaweed form, it will need to be soaked for 12 hours and then boiled in the liquid you’re setting at a ratio of 1 cup of liquid to 28 grams of carrageenan.

Where can I buy it? Carrageenan can be bought online from health food stores in Australia. New Directions stocks it in bulk, 100g is $22.

What can I cook with it? Carrageenan is best used for soft jellies , puddings , mousses , soups and ice creams .

How to Find Gelatin Substitutes for Vegetarians

3. Vegan jel

What is it? Vegan jel is a flavourless, processed vegetarian gelling powder that contains a variety of vegetarian gelatin substitutes (such as carrageenan) mixed with glucose syrup, gums and stabilisers.

How similar is it to gelatin? Vegan jel is labelled as an alternative not a substitute, so it’s best to check the packet instructions depending on what you’re cooking. It is best used in ‘set’ dessert recipes , and amounts will need to be adjusted for cheesecakes . It is less effective in recipes containing citrus, and it will set extra firm in high fat recipes.

Where can I buy it? Vegan Jel-it-in can be bought in Woolworths for $4 per 64g.

What can I cook with it? Vegan jel is not suitable for making marshmallows or jam, but it can be used to make sweet and savoury recipes such as panna cotta, jelly , terrines and pies .

How to Find Gelatin Substitutes for Vegetarians

4. Xanthan Gum

What is it? Xanthan gum is made through the process of fermenting glucose, sucrose or lactose from corn or soya beans.

How similar is it to gelatin? While it can be used as a thickening agent, it is easily affected by the temperature and pH of ingredients in a recipe and this will affect its ability to set. Therefore it is best to only use it as an alternative to regular gelatin in recipes where specified. Xanthan gum turns into a gel as soon as it comes into contact with liquid, so should not be mixed by hand, but rather in a blender at a ratio of ⅛ teaspoon to 1 cup of liquid. It’s main benefit is that unlike other vegan gelatin substitutes it does not need to be heated to form a gel-like consistency.

Where can I buy it? Xanthan gum can be purchased at most major supermarkets in Australia. Coles and Woolworths both stock it for $5 per 100g.

What can I cook with it? Xanthan gum is best for baking. Try it in dessert sauces , gluten-free cakes and fudge .

How to Find Gelatin Substitutes for Vegetarians

5. Arrowroot

What is it? Arrowroot is made from the roots of a tropical herb and its form is a starchy powder.

How similar is it to gelatin? Arrowroot, like gelatin, is good for thickening and with acidic liquids but it can’t be used with dairy or cooked at high temperatures. It won’t ‘set’ like gelatin, but it will thicken.

Where can I buy it? Arrowroot powder is easily found in Australian supermarkets and is the most affordable vegan gelatin swap. It will sometimes be labelled as arrowroot and tapioca powder as they are often considered interchangeable. Woolworths and Coles stock it for $1.70 per 175g. You can also buy just arrowroot powder online from health food stores.

What can I cook with it? Arrowroot is best used for thickening sauce , gravy and soups .

Gelatin is an animal byproduct. Nonetheless, I know many self-identified vegetarians who eat gelatin anyway. Are there reasons for being vegetarian (e.g. religious) that allow the consumption of gelatin?

8 Answers 8

The other rationale for eating something like gelatin, e.g. Amonium phosphatides, Magnesium Stearate, Carmine, Lipase, is that animal derived additives are everywhere. They often occur in small amounts in processed foods. In the past, as a practical matter, I didn’t worry about animal derived additives. At that time, I didn’t have the shopping skills to identify the additives and find alternatives. So by this reasoning, a package of Jello is not allowable, but a processed food with gelatin as the 10th ingredient would be okay, on the grounds of being practical. By this sort of rule, you’d probably be eating grams a year of animal products.

I think the main reason one eating gelatin is not knowing how it is made (extra source) or, more probable, that many products than seem vegetarian, actually contain it.

This is summed up here:

Gelatin is not vegetarian and is certainly not vegan. Sadly, millions of vegetarians and vegans could actually be using animal commodities unknowingly as the list of products that contain gelatin seems to grow everyday. Be certain to only buy certified vegan, animal-safe body products and make sure to read your food labels!

Fortunately, there are vegetarian alternatives to classic gelatin, such as Agar, Carrageenan and Vegan Jel. More details can be found here.

So shortly put, the main reason for a vegetarian to eat classic gelatin seems to be not knowing about it (its presence in the food / how it is obtained). As a consequence, some vegetarians certainly eat gelatin.

I am a vegetarian, and I have no issue with consuming gelatin. My reason for being vegetarian is because meat doesn’t taste pleasant to my palate.

How to Find Gelatin Substitutes for Vegetarians

Concerning the usage of the words vegetarian and vegan, by definition gelatin is not any of the two, so the question is moot.

On the other hand when it comes to an ethical framework based on morals frequently taken as the reason for veg*anism, I can argue in favour of gelatin, to a degree.

The argument applies to several reasons for living veg*n, for example not wanting to exploit animals and trying to limit the ecological impact one makes. I make the case that in those cases, it doesn’t follow from your morals (when you include at least self-preservation as a moral good too) that you can’t use animal product so that in some cases, it is justified to use them. Gelatin may sometimes be such a case.

Following moral goals is equivalent to minimizing the ways in which you act against those moral goals. For practically relevant morals such as those concerned here, you can’t always follow them, which is why phrasing them as above is useful. Examples of how you can’t follow them are plentiful: If you give anyone money (in exchange for anything) whom you know not to follow your morals, you are supporting them in not following your morals and acting against your own morals. If you live in a house, consider the whole dependency tree of a house (land, work, building supplies, work creating the building supplies, supplies for creating the building supplies and so on recursively) and the myriad ways this kills/harms animals and the negative ecological impact this has. If you sometimes use cars or planes instead of going on foot, hell, if you use a bike instead of going on foot or use shoes instead of going barefoot. You probably don’t do this consciously, but you are continuously balancing self preservation (or egoism, and can you even tell where the line between two is, exactly?) and your other morals.

Now that we have established that this is not about absolutes, it should also be clear that compromises are possible. You have to act against your morals, so you choose the least evils.

And sometimes, such a least evil can be to just buy something which looks morally-okay enough to you (but not completely okay) but which has other advantages which can make this a zero net moral implications trade off or even a positive one.

Buying (or even just eating) things which contain small amounts of animal matter, or using (but not buying or otherwise contributing to demand for the product) even high-animal content products can almost always be at least a zero net effect trade off.

Gelatin-containing foods are sometimes like this: They don’t contain much gelatin and gelatin being a byproduct of meat production which could be replaced relatively cheaply means you are not driving slaughtering demand up much: If the animals wouldn’t be slaughtered anyway, it would be cheaper to use something else than gelatin (the producer would, too because after all they are capitalists). On the other hand if gelatin demand was lower than the amount which can be provided by the amount of animal slaughtering going on anyway, those byproducts would like just be thrown away or used for something less productive.

So for example when you have apple juice of cost x$ versus vegan apple juice of cost 2x$ then it’s very sensible to just buy the apple juice which is not certified vegan (but might very well be anyway) because even if gelatin is actually used for clearing it, the amount won’t be large and you are free to use that money (and time you saved searching for the vegan one) for something which more than offsets the negative impact you (may have) had.

And in answer to the comment about vegan cheese: Well, this is difficult because with all my claims, I never have numbers to back it up and it’s very hard to put stuff like this in numbers anyway (consider the huge dependency trees of most stuff you buy and it’s obvious why). For gelatin, you don’t need numbers because even with worst case estimates, its negative impact can still reasonably be offset. Cheese takes a large amount of milk to make, and milk is no byproduct but the primary product of the milk industry. So if you are thinking about fondue or cheese and bread eaten like this, then it’s unlikely that it’s easy to compensate for eating it. One scenario in which it would be possible is if the vegan cheese was much more expensive not because you are feeding the coffers of some capitalist (as in “vegan apple juice”), but because it’s really that expensive. Expensive things generally have large dependency trees (somewhere, that money is being spent) and thus a large negative impact on the environment and like that on animals, too (extinctions because of climate change, etc.).

I could also argue against this (for example from a more idealist standpoint), but it remains a valid point.

My research(basically wikipedia) shows that natural sausage casing is made from a layer from the intestines of animals such as sheep and cows. The alternative to natural casings are artificial casings. The most common edible kind is the collagen casing, typically made from animal hides. This isn’t vegetarian either. The remaining kinds, cellulose and plastic, aren’t edible and are usually removed to form skinless franks.

Are there alternatives in the market? Is it possible to produce a substitute casing at home using skins from vegetables or fruits(like the peeled off skin of an apple, given that it can be reshaped)?

I all do honesty, I’m not even sure what properties a proper sausage casing should exhibit. I don’t know if they should be water proof or how they should react to heat.

Edit
I didn’t take into account that different properties in the sausage casing are desired based on the cooking method. I prefer a sausage casing that I could par-cook/poach franks in. I was looking to adapting a recipe for beef franks to use lamb instead as well as attempting to create a vegetarian mix to see if I could make a reasonable facsimile to a real hotdog.

I don’t want this question to be localized, so I’ll leave my specific reasons for wanting a vegetarian casing aside, however it would be useful to those who have dietary certain restrictions (like only eating halal meats or if one in a vegetarian or vegan) to make sausages at home instead of purchasing them in stores.

living my life to the fullest

Gelatin / gelatine is a colourless translucent product used as an agent to make food gel. It melts into liquid when heated but solidifies when chilled. Gelatin is commonly used to make dessert like puddings, chewables and gummy bear candies.

You may be surprised to read that it is also used in shampoos, masks and cosmetics etc.

What exactly is gelatin made from?
It is a hydrolysed form of collagen, extracted from skin, bones, tendon and tissue of animals such as chicken, pigs, cows and fish. Thus, it’s not vegetarian!

Since it’s made from animal products, there’s fats but in the complex manufacturing process involves sugar, acid etc.

To know more, you can enjoy the video here.

Believe it or not? I found that it has health benefits that prevents weight loss, treats osteoarthritis, osteoporosis. Hair quality is improved and sports injuries recovery can be boosted. However, no nutrition content other than collagen is found.

As a precaution, gelatin has side effects of unpleasant taste, heavy stomach, bloating, heartburn and belching reported.

What are the common substitutes of gelatine?

  1. Agar Agar (kanten): from red algae. Hardens at room temperature to give a firmer structure than gelatin.
  2. Carrageenan (Irish moss): won’t set as hard as agar agar. Ideal for soft jellies, puddings & mousses
  3. Kuzu (Japanese arrowroot): typically used as a thickener

At some point in life, you’ve probably taken advantage of the wonders of gelatin . Your first encounter was likely as a child to make Jello (‘member that agonizing hours-long wait for it to set?), and then rediscovering the fruity, jiggly classic again during adulthood, only this time, with a boozy tweak. Its magic also extends to a variety of other dishes from marshmallows and dumplings to pie and panna cotta.

What Is Gelatin?

© Provided by Chowhound champagne gelee with strawberries Tartine recipe Paige Green

Well, for starters, it ain’t vegan (though there is an animal-free alternative which we’ll get to later). Much like a hot dog, it consists of a seemingly unappetizing blend of odds and ends: animal collagen, hooves, tendons, and other connective tissue can end up in the mix. The result, however, is flavorless (thankfully).

In concentrated doses, you’ll get that iconic firm, wobbly, translucent block (or artful mold) of jelly. Used less liberally, gelatin is a nice thickener for softer dishes like pudding.

Powder, Leaf, and Agar-Agar

You’re likely familiar with gelatin in a powdered or granulated form. Given its fine texture, it dissolves more quickly providing faster results. While store shelves are stocked with gelatin-based dessert mixes, look for powders and granules that don’t have added ingredients when using it in a recipe.

You also may come across leaf (or sheet) gelatin. It takes longer to dissolve and become firm but the upside is that it yields more transparent, visually appealing results than powder. Occasionally, powder and granules won’t dissolve, but leaves/sheets rarely have that issue. They’re what professional chefs tend to use, particularly in gourmet European dishes like aspic.

For vegetarians and vegans, seek out agar-agar which uses dried red algae as its base. It’s flavorless but using it instead of gelatin will yield stiffer, less jiggly results. Agar-agar also comes in powdered form and leaf/sheet form, with similar pros and cons coming with each.

How to Use Gelatin in Recipes

See below for some of our favorite (and perhaps surprising) uses for gelatin and agar-agar.

Xiao Long Bao

© Provided by Chowhound Sheryl Park • homecook 👩🏻‍🍳’s Instagram photo: “Easy Din Tai Fung style Xiao Long Bao • Fragrant, savoury soup bursts out when you bite into this soft, tender dumpling. Paired with black…”

If the beloved soup dumpling specialist Din Tai Fung is outside your current reach, replicate its famous bundles of juicy joy at home. Gelatin is cleverly applied here, used to solidify pork stock which is placed inside the raw dough. Then, when the xiao long bao are cooked, the cube is melted down resulting in the dumpling’s signature liquid (careful, it’s hot!) center. Get the Xiao Long Bao recipe .

© Provided by Chowhound Chowhound

Panna cotta is typically the final course of a decadent meal, but consider making it a triumphant starter with this playful recipe from San Francisco’s Michelin-starred Madcap. Japanese flavors abound including ginger, plum vinegar, and lobes of creamy, briny sea urchin. Leaf/sheet gelatin is key to giving this panna cotta its semi-firm texture. Get the Uni Panna Cotta recipe .

Pandan-Coconut Layered Agar Jelly

© Provided by Chowhound @christinesrecipes on Instagram: “【Pandan-Coconut Layered Agar Jelly】- This jelly is very smooth, not too sweet, with a subtle mix of pandan and coconut fragrance. So…”

This sweet Indonesian treat will be the envy of everyone in your social media feed. Pandan, an edible leaf (find it at an Asian market) with a grassy, herbaceous flavor, offers a wonderful balance to creamy coconut. Get the Pandan-Coconut Layered Agar Jelly recipe .

Chocolate-Vanilla-Swirl Pudding Pops

© Provided by Chowhound

If you’re not convinced pudding is best enjoyed when frozen, here’s some proof. Keep it simple with plain-old chocolate or vanilla vanilla . Better yet, swirl the two together for the best of both worlds. Get our Chocolate-Vanilla-Swirl Pudding Pops recipe .

Strawberry Cream Puffs

© Provided by Chowhound Strawberry Cream Puffs recipe Chowhound

Here’s the perfect way to take advantage of your summer strawberry haul while satisfying your sweet tooth. This recipe yields a dozen whimsical puffs with a creamy and tangy gelatin-infused mousse . Get our Strawberry Cream Puffs recipe .

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

© Provided by CBS Interactive Inc. (video) pumpkin chiffon pie recipe Chowhound

Chiffon pies are melt-in-your-mouth delicious with their soft, fluffy texture (thanks to a boost of gelatin). If it’s summertime, go with a blackberry-forward version . But when Thanksgiving rolls around, you know what to do. Get our Pumpkin Chiffon Pie recipe .

Lambic Marshmallows with Chocolate Stout Fondue

© Provided by Chowhound chocolate stout fondue recipe with homemade lambic beer marshmallow recipe Melissa Cole

If you’re planning to have a bonfire, you probably want classic vanilla marshmallows on hand. But if you’re staying indoors, try this retro recipe from Melissa Cole’s The Beer Kitchen: The Art and Science of Cooking, & Pairing, with Beer . Her boozy ‘mallows are made with both gelatin and agar-agar along with tart, fruity lambic, a traditional Belgian-style sour beer. A side of chocolate fondue brings even more suds to the party with the addition of dark stout. Get the Lambic Marshmallows with Chocolate Stout Fondue recipe .

Hurricane Jelly Shots

© Provided by Chowhound Chowhound

There’s nothing wrong with getting your Jello shot on, but why not step up your game with these N’awlins-inspired rum-soaked little numbers? If you want to revel in that Mardi Gras spirit but you’re more of a whiskey fan, go the Sazerac route. Or for the botanical booze enthusiast, get jazzed for these Ramos Gin Fizz cubes. Get our Hurricane Jelly Shots recipe .

How to Find Gelatin Substitutes for Vegetarians

Gelatin is a colorless and odorless protein that is derived from the bones and skin of certain animals. Most common animals used for the purpose are pigs and cows. Their skin, tendons, bones and ligaments are boiled in water to obtain this substance. Gelatin is widely used in cosmetics, face masks and shampoos. It is also used as a thickener in puddings, candies, cakes, marshmallows, yogurt, ice creams etc. According to Kosher laws, one can consume animals only if they chew their cue and have split hooves. If you want the Kosher version of gelatin, this oneHOWTO article will tell you how to know if gelatin is Kosher or not.

Read the label

To know if gelatin is kosher, its highly important to look for Kocher markings or symbols on the gelatin product you are buying. It basically indicates that a rabbi oversaw the manufacturing process of the product, and he theoretically ensures satisfying the Hebrew laws of Kosher.

  • ‘P’ means Parve, which indicates that the product does not have dairy or meat products, but it may contain eggs or fish
  • ‘D’ means Kosher D, which indicates that the product has milk or it was manufactured using a dairy related machinery

Gelatin that has been approved by Kosher will always have a certification on its package, indicating whether it is neutral or pareva. Pareva is a food derived from fish or a meat source. As per Kosher laws, neutral products like fish, eggs, grains and vegetables can be consumed with dairy or meat.

Follow an agency

There are several agencies that certify food products for their Kosher status, such as Star K, OK, KOF-K and Orthodox Union. Different people follow guidelines from different agencies to identify the Kosher status of gelatin they are buying.

  • According to Star-K, gelatin obtained from pig is not Kosher, and that obtained from fish may be allowed in yogurt and other dairy products, but not otherwise. On the contrary, gelatin from fish does not possess the gelling strength required for binding yogurt
  • According to OK, Kosher gelatin should be made from agar agar or Kosher fish, and should not be made from non-Kosher animals like pig
  • OU certifies bovine gelatin as Kosher if it has been obtained from the cattle slaughtered as per Kosher rules. ‘Glatt’ is a Jewish term for an animal the internal organs of which are adhesion free. Kosher gelatin can be derived from the hides of glatt as well

According to some Kosher certifying agencies, gelatin obtained from pig is considered as Kosher. Other agencies do not consider gelatin as a ‘food’, due to which it cannot be Kosher or non-Kosher. So, you have to depend on your favorite agency’s norms to find out whether your gelatin is Kosher or not.

How to Find Gelatin Substitutes for Vegetarians

Look at the price tag

If the gelatin you are buying is cheaper than the others, chances are that it is not Kosher or it has not been certified properly. In order to make a Kosher certified product, the manufacturer needs to hire a rabbi or a Kosher supervision organization. Due to this, the end product may turn out to be more expensive than its competitors. Although this can be one way to know if gelatin is Kosher or not, you cannot completely rely on this norm.

Conclusion

Even though gelatin is Kosher, it may not be vegetarian. So, vegetarians should be aware of this fact. There are numerous Kosher certifications and symbols used to know if gelatin is Kosher. You need to understand the policies of your Kosher agency, and also find out the meaning of particular certification to determine whether your gelatin meets the standards or not. According to food technologists, vegetable gums are not similar to gelatin, and are not appropriate to be used as its substitutes. Replacements for gelatin are expensive, and are not investigated properly by food companies. In some products, you may use agar agar and carrageenan as vegetarian gelatin substitutes. If you are making gel or marshmallow, check out the substitutes without animal gelatin.

If you want to read similar articles to How to Know if Gelatin is Kosher, we recommend you visit our Food & drink category.

Vegetarian cooking means using just vegetable and fruits and their products and avoiding meat and animal products. A list of ingredients you can use to substitute for animal-based products in recipes is a must-have along with a list of animal-based ingredients to be aware of as you shop for food.

Substitutions to Use in Vegetarian Recipes

Just because you’re cooking vegetarian and leaving meat and meat products out of your menus doesn’t mean you have to get rid of your old recipes. You can use the following lists to adapt nonvegetarian recipes to vegetarian versions.

You may have to experiment a couple of times to find the right substitute for a particular recipe, so have patience!

Look through your recipe files or flag the pages of favorite recipes in your nonvegetarian cookbooks to get started. Mark the changes you’d like to try with a pencil. Erase and make adjustments as needed until you get the recipe to come out just the way you like it. You’ll be surprised to see how easy it can be to create great-tasting vegetarian foods out of traditional nonvegetarian recipes.

Substitutes for One Whole Egg

In baked goods: In burgers, loaves, and casseroles:
1/2 small ripe banana, mashed 2 or 3 tablespoons quick-cooking rolled oats or cooked
oatmeal
1/4 cup applesauce, canned pumpkin or squash, or pureed
prunes
2 or 3 tablespoons mashed potatoes, mashed sweet potatoes, or
instant potato flakes
1/4 cup tofu blended with the liquid ingredients in the
recipe
2 or 3 tablespoons fine breadcrumbs, cracker meal, or matzo
meal
1 1/2 teaspoons commercial egg replacer, such as Ener-G brand,
mixed with 2 tablespoons water
2 or 3 tablespoons flour — whole-wheat, unbleached white,
or oat
1 heaping tablespoon soy flour or bean flour mixed with 1
tablespoon water
2 or 3 tablespoons arrowroot starch, potato starch, cornstarch,
or Ener-G Egg Replacer mixed with 2 tablespoons water
2 tablespoons cornstarch beaten with 2 tablespoons water 2 or 3 tablespoons tomato paste
1 tablespoon finely ground flaxseeds whipped with 1/4 cup
water
1/4 cup tofu blended with 1 tablespoon flour
Substitutes for Meat

Textured vegetable protein (TVP) to replace ground meat
Bulgur wheat to replace ground meat
Tofu, tempeh, or seitan
Meatless hotdogs, veggie burger patties, meatless sausages, or
bacon alternatives
Beans — rehydrated, canned, or dried flakes
Substitutes for Dairy

Instead of cow’s milk:
Soy, rice, oat, or potato milk or a soy/rice milk blend
Pureed potato with vegetable broth or pureed soft tofu in cream
soups
Instead of dairy cheese:
Soy- or nut-based cheese alternatives
Tofu mashed with a few teaspoons of lemon juice to replace
ricotta cheese or cottage cheese in recipes for lasagne and stuffed
shells

You can use soy yogurt (plain or flavored) instead of dairy yogurt and sour cream, and soy margarine or vegetable oil instead of butter.

Hidden Animal Ingredients for Vegetarians

If you’re new to eating and cooking vegetarian, it may take a while to become familiar with all the animal products present in many foods. Look on labels and avoid products in the following list — they’re all animal products.

Q: What is gelatin made from?

A: Gelatin is made of collagen that is sourced from a variety of animal by-products . On its own, it isn’t particularly flavoursome but it is a crucial element to numerous gel-like substances. The collagen which creates gelatin is made of a combination of proteins and peptides. In Australia, it is most commonly made from pork skins, horses and cattle bones. Around the world, more than 800 billion pounds of gelatin is produced every year.

How to Find Gelatin Substitutes for Vegetarians

PETA reports that “gelatin is a protein obtained by boiling skin, tendons, ligaments, and/or bones with water. It is usually obtained from cows or pigs.”

Gelatin is used in more products than you think, such as:

  • Shampoos
    Facemasks
  • Jelly
  • Gummy candies and lollies
  • Marshmallows
  • Ice cream
  • Cakes
  • Vitamins
  • Yoghurt
  • Photography
  • Pharmaceuticals
  • Cosmetic products

Gelatin is not suitable for vegans and vegetarians. A similar product that is vegan is “agar-agar” it is made from seaweed. And for vegetarians, Queen’s Jel-it-in Gelling Powder is a great alternative.

How to Find Gelatin Substitutes for Vegetarians

Nutritional and health benefits

From a nutritional perspective, gelatin contains 18 amino acids. As the proteins are animal-derived they are easy for the human body to digest. It is a relatively good source of vitamins and minerals but is not a complete protein source as it doesn’t contain all of the necessary amino acids required by humans.

The health benefits of consuming gelatin include:

  • Skin, hair and nail growth
  • Reduced joint inflammation
  • Improved digestion
  • Muscle growth
  • Strengthen the immune system

Where to buy?

You can purchase gelatin in leaves or sheets, granules or powdered forms from major supermarkets

You are here: Home / Spice Substitutes / What’s a Good Gelatin Powder Substitute?

Gelatin powder is usually easy to find and easy to use; however, there are several reasons why you may not want to include it in your food. For example, the fact that it is made from animal cartilage and ligaments will rule it out as an ingredient for vegans. Try one of the gelatin powder substitutes below if you need an alternative that has similar properties.

Your best bet: Agar agar powder

Often referred to simply as agar or agar powder, agar agar powder is an extract from seaweed. Its gelling properties come from its soluble fiber content and make it an excellent vegan alternative to gelatin, which is made from animal products. Like gelatin powder, agar agar powder is flavorless and odorless. It is used to make Asian jelly candies that have a smooth, soft texture that is similar to the texture of gelatin. It is more versatile than gelatin in that it can set at room temperature and has a higher melting point. In comparison, gelatin needs to be refrigerated to set with a jelly consistency.

Note that the enzymes in certain fruits will keep dissolved agar agar powder from setting. Those fruits include pineapple and papaya. You can get around this by cooking the fruit to neutralize the enzymes before adding them to the agar agar mixture.

A decent second choice: Pectin powder

Pectin is extracted from certain fruits. Among the fruits that are richest in pectin are apples and oranges. In both cases, the peel is a good source of the pectin. Like agar agar powder, dissolved pectin powder can set at room temperature. That ability means that it can be used in a broader range of applications when compared to gelatin powder. Key drawbacks with pectin powder include the fact that a substantial amount of sugar must be added to get the best results. Pectin powder is bitter since the commercial version is sourced from citrus peel, the sugar helps to mask the taste and is also necessary for it to set properly.

In a pinch: Carrageenan

Carrageenan is another vegetable-based gelling agent that can work as a gelatin powder substitute. Like agar agar powder, carrageenan comes from a seaweed. Its gelling and thickening powers come from its soluble fiber, which makes it similar to both pectin powder and agar agar powder. Carrageenan’s drawback is that it solidifies to a jelly that is somewhat softer than the jelly made with gelatin. It is better suited for applications that do not require a firmer texture. It is flavorless and odorless like gelatin, which means that its effects are limited to the texture of the dish.

Other alternatives

Guar gum is native to India and comes from the guar plant, which is sometimes called the cluster bean bush. The seeds are ground and the endosperm separated to make guar gum. Like gelatin powder, guar gum can transform liquids into a solid with a jelly consistency. It is similar to agar agar in that it can do this at room temperature. As with other gelling agents, the use of acidic ingredients can hinder guar gum’s ability to solidify properly.

Locust bean gum comes from the carob seed and is another thickening and gelling agent that can serve as a substitute for gelatin. It can be used by itself or in combination with other gelling agents like agar agar powder. It is sometimes combined with agar agar powder to create a more elastic gel.

Related

Spicy food fan?

Visit our sister site PepperScale. Discover 500+ spicy recipes and hundreds of pepper profiles, comparisons, cooking tips + more.

An Update by Jeanne Yacoubou, MS, VRG’s Research Director

G ELATIN IS A COMMON INGREDIENT IN MANY different food products, such as desserts, candy, and yogurt. It also has many pharmaceutical applications, including being a major component in many capsules and vitamins. To date, food technologists haven’t been able to synthesize gelatin in a lab or find a vegetable equivalent that has all of gelatin’s unique properties—such as its ability to make water bind to other ingredients, giving foods consistency; to stabilize foams and gels; and to impart a smooth taste to certain foods—all at the same time. For vegetarians, gelatin presents problems because it is derived from collagen, a component of the skins and bones of animals.

In 2007, the writer noticed the use of the phrase ‘kosher gelatin’ on some ingredient statements, including the one for McDonald’s yogurt. When asked about the source of the ‘kosher gelatin,’ McDonald’s informed the writer that it was “from an animal source.” No further information was given. After further research for this report, we discovered that there is no uniform meaning to the term ‘kosher gelatin.’

The VRG contacted four major kosher certifying agencies that certify kosher food products in the United States today—Star-K, OK, the Orthodox Union (OU), and KOF-K—to clarify the meaning of kosher gelatin. These four agencies are considered “normative mainstream” by J.M. Regenstein, a Jewish food technologist who has published extensively on kosher food laws. Star-K said, “Kosher gelatin is derived from kosher animal sources. Gelatin derived from pig would not be considered kosher. Kosher gelatin is derived from kosher slaughtered and processed bovine sources or from kosher species of fish. Gelatin derived from fish is permitted in yogurt or other dairy foods according to most opinions.”

Star-K also told us their position on the use of gelatin (a meat product) in yogurt (a dairy product). “There is debate among authorities if bovine gelatin, which is derived from animal skins or bones, can be eaten with dairy. Star-K would not allow for use of kosher bovine gelatin in yogurt or other dairy foods.” These facts may present technical difficulties for yogurt makers who wish to attain kosher certification for their gelatin-containing yogurt. Fish gelatin does not have the gelling strength needed in yogurt.

In e-mail correspondence, Miriam Wudowsky of the OK kosher certifying agency said, “Kosher gelatin is made from kosher fish and/or agar agar. The OK never uses anything made from pig or other nonkosher animals.”

The OU does certify as kosher the bovine gelatin derived from cattle slaughtered in kosher fashion. To the best of our knowledge, there are two companies that produce gelatin certifiable according to OU standards. One of them is Glatech Productions, a New Jersey-based company that produces Kolatin® brand kosher gelatin. An officer at Glatech told us that Kolatin® is derived from the hides of glatt (a Jewish term referring to an animal whose internal organs are adhesion-free) kosher cattle raised in the U.S. and slaughtered in kosher fashion.

There are other kosher-certifying agencies that will certify as kosher food products containing pig-derived gelatin. Ko Kosher of Philadelphia is one such agency. They certify products from more than 200 companies, including General Mills, Hershey Foods, Jelly Belly, and GNC. According to Rabbi Novoseller of Ko Kosher, gelatin is not a food. At one time during its processing, when the bones and hides of animals are treated with acid during the gelatin extraction process, gelatin was not a food. In fact, it was “inedible even to a dog,” referring to a commonly known Jewish test of what is or is not a food. According to Jewish dietary laws, “If something is not a food, it cannot be non-kosher.” Therefore, according to Rabbi Novoseller, gelatin is kosher, regardless of animal species and slaughter method.

CONCLUSION

Vegetarians should be aware that gelatin is animalderived, and a designation that gelatin is kosher does not mean it is vegetarian. There are hundreds of kosher symbols and certifications, so you need to know the particular kosher agency’s policies and what the particular certification actually means to determine if a product meets your needs.

Most food technologists agree that vegetable gums do not mimic all of the characteristics of gelatin well and are not often used as gelatin substitutes. Jeff Morehouse of Aqualon, a company that manufactures cellulose gums, told us that gelatin replacements are very expensive and not really being investigated by food companies. Consumer demand, awareness, and purchase of vegetarian products are needed to change that corporate attitude.

Agar agar, carrageenan, and other vegetable gums are vegetarian substitutes used in some products. For marshmallows and jels made without animal gelatin, check out online retailers, such as the Vegetarian Site.com, Pangea, the Mail Order Catalog, Vegan Essentials, and Ethical Planet, or elsewhere.

Jeanne Yacoubou is The VRG’s Research Director. She holds master’s degrees in philosophy, chemistry, and education.

© 1996-2020 The Vegetarian Resource Group, PO Box 1463, Baltimore, MD 21203. (410) 366-8343. Email:

The contents of this website and our other publications, including Vegetarian Journal, are not intended to provide personal medical advice. Medical advice should be obtained from a qualified health professional. We often depend on product and ingredient information from company statements. It is impossible to be 100% sure about a statement, info can change, people have different views, and mistakes can be made. Please use your best judgment about whether a product is suitable for you. To be sure, do further research or confirmation on your own.

Any page on this site may be reproduced for non-commercial use if left intact with credit given to The Vegetarian Resource Group and each page linked to www.vrg.org

Click here to see our Privacy Policy.

Web site questions or comments? Please email

People who are considering becoming vegans often have a hard time making the transition because they are worried about how they will still enjoy their favorite recipes, which is where a vegan ingredient substitution list can come in handy. They may not know that for almost any non-vegan food product, there is an equally viable vegan alternative that will create a similar flavor and often a similar texture as well.

Why a Vegan Ingredient Substitution List?

While most people know that tofu is a good substitute for most meats, they may not know what to use instead of other items that aren’t vegan, such as eggs, dairy products and gelatin. A list lets them pick something at a glance that will work just fine in most recipes.

Sample Vegan Ingredient Substitution List

This list is not all-inclusive, but it does contain some of the most popular alternatives for each of the items mentioned.

  • Meat – Tofu, seitan, tempeh, textured soy protein, quinoa, beans
  • Eggs – Bananas, applesauce, Ener-G egg replacer, baking soda and water, ground flaxseeds
  • Gelatin – Corn starch, agar, carrageenan, arrowroot powder, xanthan gum
  • Honey – Agave nectar, cane sugar, maple syrup
  • Cheese – Nutritional yeast flakes, soy or nut based cheese
  • Mayonnaise – Soy or grape seed oil mayonnaise
  • Cow’s milk – Milk made from nuts, rice or soy
  • Ice cream – Soy ice cream or sherbet
  • Yogurt – Yogurt made with soy milk, rice milk or coconut milk

Other Lists

Those who are looking for a more substantial list can check out the following websites:

  • The Kids Are Vegans Too Blog: This list focuses on items vegan kids will want to eat, including butter and chocolate chips. Several substitutions are provided for each ingredient.
  • The Veggie Table – This list is similar to the others, but it has one bonus. It includes links to recipes for how to make the alternate ingredients, such as tofu cream cheese, yourself.
  • Veg Kansas City: This site explains exactly how to use each vegan substitution, from the amount needed to how to prepare it. It also mentions some brand names to look for in the harder to find products.

Another place to look for lists is in the front or back of many vegan cookbooks.

Considerations

Before using a vegan ingredient as a substitute for a non-vegan one, it’s important to consider that dish it’s going to be used for. For example, some egg substitutes, like applesauce, work great in some situations but are a total wash in others. Applesauce is a perfect egg substitute in a cake, but it will not work in a quiche or omelet. The same is true with many of these ingredients.

Another thing to keep in mind is that veganism does not only extend to food products. Plenty of other things, like camera film and leather shoes, do not fit in with the lifestyle. There is an extensive substitution list for edible and nonedible animal derived products on PETA’s webpage. Extensive as in it has dozens of items on it. Even a longtime vegan may learn that something he or she thought was vegan really isn’t after reading through all of the entries.

How to Find Gelatin Substitutes for Vegetarians

If you want to reap the nutritional benefits of chicken without having to actually eat it, you’re in luck. Several high-protein vegetarian substitutes for chicken are available that help meet daily protein needs when you don’t eat meat.

1. Grilled Marinated Tofu

Tofu makes an excellent substitute for chicken because it’s a good source of high-quality, complete protein and can be flavored to taste like chicken. Use the following grilled marinated tofu recipe when you’re craving the taste of chicken but want to avoid meat.

Ingredients

  • 1 pound of firm tofu
  • 1 tablespoon of sesame oil
  • ¼ cup of soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon of white wine vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons of dry white wine
  • 1 tablespoon of minced ginger

Directions

  1. Cut the tofu into ½-inch slices; drain and pat with a paper towel.
  2. Mix the remaining ingredients in bowl and stir well to make a marinade.
  3. Soak the tofu in the marinade for 30 to 60 minutes.
  4. Grill the tofu on a medium-hot grill for about two minutes on each side.
  5. Serve with extra marinade if desired, brown rice, and grilled vegetables.

2. Barbecued Seitan

Seitan is a meatless protein made from wheat gluten. It is high in protein like chicken, and you can flavor it to taste like chicken with the right recipe. If barbecued chicken or pulled pork is a favorite, this recipe is for you.

How to Find Gelatin Substitutes for Vegetarians

Ingredients

  • 10 ounces of seitan cutlets, cut into strips
  • ¼ cup of barbecue sauce
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1 teaspoon of canola oil
  • Four hamburger buns

Directions

  1. Place the onion and oil in a skillet; sauté over medium heat for five minutes.
  2. Add the seitan and continue to sauté for two more minutes.
  3. Pour in the barbecue sauce and stir; heat until the mixture is hot.
  4. Serve on whole-grain hamburger buns.

3. Tempeh Salad Sandwich

If you’re a vegetarian craving chicken salad, try using tempeh (a meat substitute made from soybeans) instead of chicken.

How to Find Gelatin Substitutes for Vegetarians

Ingredients

  • 12 ounces of tempeh, cubed
  • 1 celery stalk, chopped
  • ½ red bell pepper, chopped
  • 2 scallions, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons of cucumber or dill pickle, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon of yellow mustard
  • 1 teaspoon of lemon juice
  • ½ cup of mayonnaise
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions

  1. Boil the tempeh in water; add a pinch of salt.
  2. Reduce the heat to low and simmer for 10 to 15 minutes; drain and set aside.
  3. Combine all other ingredients in a bowl and mix well; add the cubed tempeh.
  4. Refrigerate for 30 minutes to chill.
  5. Serve on wheat bread with lettuce and sliced tomato.

4. Gardein Meatless Chicken

Gardein brand makes meatless chicken products, such as chicken strips and chicken patties that make excellent additions to vegetarian meal plans. Such products can be used in place of chicken in stir-fries, sandwiches, soups, and casseroles. Many Gardein products contain both soy and wheat protein and have received rave reviews from customers. For example, Gardein chicken strips have an exceptional rating of 5 out of 5 stars from Amazon.com customers, who say the product is very meat-like with exceptional taste and texture. Gardein products are found in many major grocery store chains and health food stores, and can be baked in the oven or microwaved.

5. MorningStar “Chicken”

Similar to Gardein meatless chicken products, MorningStar Farms makes a variety of meatless chicken nuggets, chicken strips, and chicken patties. The protein in these products is soy, wheat gluten, or both, and can be found in many major supermarkets. MorningStar products can be baked or microwaved. Consumers of MorningStar meatless chicken strips give good reviews (4.2 out of 5 stars), saying the product tastes just like chicken. Likewise, MorningStar meatless chicken nuggets receive 5 out of 5 stars, with customers saying everyone in the family (kids and parents) are in love with the product.

6. Quorn Products (Mycoprotein)

Quorn brand makes protein-rich meatless chicken substitutes that taste much like chicken. The main protein in Quorn products is called mycoprotein, which is actually a type of fungi, and egg whites are used as a binding agent. So, if you’re a vegetarian and sensitive to soy or wheat protein, Quorn products may be a good fit for you. Customers give Quorn meatless chicken nuggets a 4.5 out of 5 rating, saying the product is delicious, and the texture is very similar to real chicken. Microwave or baked these frozen products and enjoy!

Meatless Chicken

If you want to avoid meat but crave the taste of chicken, numerous delicious meatless chicken substitutes are available to choose from. Make your own with vegetarian ingredients, or pick up a packaged brand for a quick meal.

How to Find Gelatin Substitutes for Vegetarians

As far as superfoods go, bone broth is one that I can’t get enough of! Not only are there many proven benefits of bone broth , but it doesn’t even cost a fortune to make. However, bone broth isn’t for everyone. If you are looking for a bone broth alternative – whether because you don’t have time to make it, you hate the taste or are serving vegetarians – here are some options.

Bone Broth Alternatives if You Don’t Have Time to Make It

When you boil bones, it releases nutrients into the liquid and creates an incredibly nutrient-dense broth. Unfortunately, there is no bone broth alternative which gives all of these same nutrients and benefits. However, there are some options which come close.

Gelatin Powder

Bone broth contains many nutrients but its main benefit comes from the gelatin it contains. Gelatin is just collagen which has been boiled down. When it is cool, it forms a gel. When heated, it liquefies.

I love making desserts out of gelatin like gummies and puddings. You can also use gelatin powder in recipes like soups, sauces, and even for DIY mayo. My eBook, The Gelatin Secret , contains lots of easy-to-make paleo-friendly gelatin recipes.

Just remember that the quality of your gelatin matters! The gelatin you find in supermarkets usually contains additives and is so highly processed that the nutrients have been destroyed.

Hydrolyzed Collagen

When you go to buy a quality brand of gelatin, you’ll find two main options: gelatin powder and hydrolyzed collagen powder .

The two are basically the same thing. The only difference is that gelatin gels and hydrolyzed collagen won’t. Read about the difference between gelatin and collagen .

Store-Bought Bone Broth

Because bone broth is so trendy, there are now a few brands that sell it. Just be warned that these may contain harmful additives or tons of salt. I personally would rather make my own bone broth. If you make bone broth in a pressure cooker , the process is really simple. You can just make a huge batch and freeze it in small portions for later use.

Bone Broth Alternatives If You Hate the Taste

When people try bone broth for the first time, they are usually expecting it to taste like soup stock. Surprise, surprise – the two taste nothing alike!

Where stock has a salty, flavorful taste; bone broth is bland and has an oily texture.

Please don’t give up on bone broth right away! I’ve got some tips to make your bone broth taste great:

  • Remove the Protein Scum from the Broth: As your bone broth boils, some scum will float to the top. This is perfectly safe to eat but imparts a weird taste and oily texture. Remove it and the final broth will taste better.
  • Use a Different Kind of Bones: Chicken bones are the easiest to come by and what many people use for making bone broth. However, a lot of people prefer the taste of marrow bones instead. On the flip side if you don’t like marrow bones, try making bone broth with poultry bones or gelatin-rich bones like pig knuckles instead.
  • Roast the Bones First: Yes, this takes extra work but it’s worth it! The roasting produces a much richer flavor.
  • Don’t Overdo the ACV: Bone broth recipes usually call for apple cider vinegar. The ACV helps draw the nutrients out of the bones, but it imparts a strong taste. If you hate the taste of bone broth, then reduce the amount of ACV. Or skip the ACV completely and just boil the bones for longer.
  • Mix Your Bone Broth with Store Bought Stock: By doing this, you will get a taste that’s more familiar. Gradually increase the ratio of broth to stock until you are drinking mostly broth. There are some really great brands you can buy these days!
  • Add Enough Salt: Too much salt is a bad thing, but salt is also crucial for drawing out flavors. I personally like sea salt in my bone broth. Start by adding a little, testing the broth, and then adding more until the flavor is right.
  • Add Lemon Juice: A lot of people like to add a splash of lemon juice to their bone broth. It creates a fresh flavor and makes it more palatable for drinking!
  • Add Flavors: There are hundreds of recipes for bone broth. If you don’t like one, try another. One of my favorite combinations involves simmering some ginger, salt, dried chili, and lime juice in the bone broth for about 20 minutes. Add a splash of coconut milk right before serving and it will taste like chai!

Bone Broth Alternatives for Vegetarians

I’m not going to go on a tirade about the health risks of being vegetarian (not here at least!). Rather, I want to focus on the fact that there is no vegetarian food which is a complete substitute for bones when making broth.

Bones contain high concentrations of nutrients which you won’t find in vegetable foods. The closest you can get is with recipes like this one which contains seaweed. Seaweeds contain high amounts of glycine and proline; which are the two main amino acids in collagen.

Instead of drinking bone broth in this case, then you might be better off just eating foods rich in collagen or collagen-boosting foods .

  • Egg whites
  • Leafy greens
  • Citrus fruits
  • Sulfur foods

Want to learn more about how to get the health benefits of bone broth? Read The Gelatin Secret. You’ll learn how gelatin heals all parts of the body and also get lots of great gelatin recipes.

You are here: Home / Spice Substitutes / What’s A Good Carrageenan Substitute?

Carrageenan is common as a food additive in commercially processed food where it is used as a gelling agent and to improve mouthfeel. It is not a common ingredient for home cooks, but it is available from various retailers. If you need a product with carrageenan’s properties but don’t want to wait for an online shipment or have other concerns about the product, try one of the effective carrageenan substitutes below.

Your best bet: Agar agar powder

Agar Agar powder is commonly known simply as agar powder or just agar. Like carrageenan, it is a seaweed extract that has gelling abilities due to its high soluble fiber content. It actually comes from the same type of seaweed that is used to produce carrageenan. Another important similarity is the fact that agar agar powder comes from a plant, this makes it a great vegan gelling agent.

Agar agar is most widely used in Asia, where it is the ingredient that gives jelly candies from that continent their unique texture. These candies are popular in many Asian countries and have a texture like that of the gelatin-based desserts popular in the west but without the temperature sensitivity that gelatin brings. It should be noted that the enzymes in certain fruits can stop the gelling action of agar agar.

A decent second choice: Gelatin

Gelatin and carrageenan have strikingly similar textures and gelatin is also much easier to find. Unflavored gelatin can be found in most grocery stores in the US and is relatively affordable. From an availability standpoint alone, it makes a good carrageenan substitute since carrageenan may not be the easiest thing to find if you need it in a hurry. The downside is that gelatin is an animal product, unlike the other carrageenan substitutes on this list. As an animal product, it is not suitable for vegans or vegetarians. Another problem is that gelatin requires low temperatures to set, and so cannot be used for room temperature items.

In a pinch: Pectin powder

Pectin powder is another form of soluble fiber that is used as a thickener, but it comes from fruits rather than from seaweed. Pectin can be found in many fruits, but apples and oranges are two of the richest sources. In European and American cuisine, pectin is a staple of jam-making. It is used to create the thick, syrupy texture associated with jam; it is more of a thickener than a gelling agent. Pectin is a plant product like carrageenan, which means that vegans can consume it with no worries but that’s not its only similarity to the seaweed. Pectin powder can perform its role at room temperature, meaning that refrigeration is not necessary. The only real drawback of pectin powder is the fact it requires sugar to be effective.

You are not limited to the pectin sold in grocery stores as you can get pectin directly from fruit as well. You extract pectin by boiling the peels or piths of pectin-rich fruit. Orange piths are a convenient source. In other cases, you can simply add the fruit itself to your jam to get the effect. Peaches are often used in this way.

Other alternatives

If what you need is a simple thickener that is stable at room temperature, corn starch is a great option. Not only is it easy to find and vegan, it is extremely affordable as well.

Sodium alginate is another seaweed-based gelling product, It has recently become a popular cooking additive and is used to encapsulate liquids in a gel membrane and can be used to make stable foams.

Related

Spicy food fan?

Visit our sister site PepperScale. Discover 500+ spicy recipes and hundreds of pepper profiles, comparisons, cooking tips + more.

Citations:

  • MLA style: “Gelatin: sometimes kosher but still not typically vegetarian..” The Free Library. 2008 Vegetarian Resource Group 10 Aug. 2020 https://www.thefreelibrary.com/Gelatin%3a+sometimes+kosher+but+still+not+typically+vegetarian.-a0188350439
  • Chicago style:The Free Library. S.v. Gelatin: sometimes kosher but still not typically vegetarian..” Retrieved Aug 10 2020 from https://www.thefreelibrary.com/Gelatin%3a+sometimes+kosher+but+still+not+typically+vegetarian.-a0188350439
  • APA style: Gelatin: sometimes kosher but still not typically vegetarian.. (n.d.) >The Free Library. (2014). Retrieved Aug 10 2020 from https://www.thefreelibrary.com/Gelatin%3a+sometimes+kosher+but+still+not+typically+vegetarian.-a0188350439

GELATIN IS A COMMON INGREDIENT IN MANY different food products, such as desserts, candy, and yogurt. It also has many pharmaceutical applications, including being a major component in many capsules and vitamins. To date, food technologists haven’t been able to synthesize gelatin in a lab or find a vegetable equivalent that has all of gelatin’s unique properties–such as its ability to make water bind to other ingredients, giving foods consistency; to stabilize foams and gels; and to impart a smooth taste to certain foods–all at the same time. For vegetarians, gelatin presents problems because it is derived from collagen, a component of the skins and bones of animals.

In 2007, the writer noticed the use of the phrase ‘kosher gelatin’ on some ingredient statements, including the one for McDonald’s yogurt. When asked about the source of the ‘kosher gelatin,’ McDonald’s informed the writer that it was “from an animal source.” No further information was given. After further research for this report, we discovered that there is no uniform meaning to the term ‘kosher gelatin.’

The VRG contacted four major kosher certifying agencies that certify kosher food products in the United States today–Star-K, OK, the Orthodox Union (OU), and KOF-K–to clarify the meaning of kosher gelatin. These four agencies are considered “normative mainstream” by J.M. Regenstein, a Jewish food technologist who has published extensively on kosher food laws.

Star-K said, “Kosher gelatin is derived from kosher animal sources. Gelatin derived from pig would not be considered kosher. Kosher gelatin is derived from kosher slaughtered and processed bovine sources or from kosher species of fish. Gelatin derived from fish is permitted in yogurt or other dairy foods according to most opinions.”

Star-K also told us their position on the use of gelatin (a meat product) in yogurt (a dairy product). “There is debate among authorities if bovine gelatin, which is derived from animal skins or bones, can be eaten with dairy. Star-K would not allow for use of kosher bovine gelatin in yogurt or other dairy foods.” These facts may present technical difficulties for yogurt makers who wish to attain kosher certification for their gelatin-containing yogurt. Fish gelatin does not have the gelling strength needed in yogurt.

In e-mail correspondence, Miriam Wudowsky of the OK kosher certifying agency said, “Kosher gelatin is made from kosher fish and/or agar agar. The OK never uses anything made from pig or other nonkosher animals.”

The OU does certify as kosher the bovine gelatin derived from cattle slaughtered in kosher fashion. To the best of our knowledge, there are two companies that produce gelatin certifiable according to OU standards. One of them is Glatech Productions, a New Jersey-based company that produces Kolatin[R] brand kosher gelatin. An officer at Glatech told us that Kolatin[R] is derived from the hides of glatt (a Jewish term referring to an animal whose internal organs are adhesion-free) kosher cattle raised in the U.S. and slaughtered in kosher fashion.

There are other kosher-certifying agencies that will certify as kosher food products containing pig-derived gelatin. Ko Kosher of Philadelphia is one such agency. They certify products from more than 200 companies, including General Mills, Hershey Foods, Jelly Belly, and GNC. According to Rabbi Novoseller of Ko Kosher, gelatin is not a food. At one time during its processing, when the bones and hides of animals are treated with acid during the gelatin extraction process, gelatin was not a food. In fact, it was “inedible even to a dog,” referring to a commonly known Jewish test of what is or is not a food. According to Jewish dietary laws, “If something is not a food, it cannot be non-kosher.” Therefore, according to Rabbi Novoseller, gelatin is kosher, regardless of animal species and slaughter method.

Vegetarians should be aware that gelatin is animal-derived, and a designation that gelatin is kosher does not mean it is vegetarian. There are hundreds of kosher symbols and certifications, so you need to know the particular kosher agency’s policies and what the particular certification actually means to determine if a product meets your needs.

Most food technologists agree that vegetable gums do not mimic all of the characteristics of gelatin well and are not often used as gelatin substitutes. Jeff Morehouse of Aqualon, a company that manufactures cellulose gums, told us that gelatin replacements are very expensive and not really being investigated by food companies. Consumer demand, awareness, and purchase of vegetarian products are needed to change that corporate attitude.

Agar agar, carrageenan, and other vegetable gums are vegetarian substitutes used in some products. For marshmallows and jels made without animal gelatin, check out online retailers, such as the Vegetarian Site.com, Pangea, the Mail Order Catalog, Vegan Essentials, and Ethical Planet, or elsewhere.

An Update by Jeanne Yacoubou, MS, VRG’s Research Director

Jeanne Yacoubou is The VRG’s Research Director. She holds master’s degrees in philosophy, chemistry, and education.

Related Articles

Ham hocks, the lower portion of a pork leg, are used in many traditional bean and vegetable dishes from Europe and the American South. They add richness, savor and a smoky flavor that complements legumes and greens especially well. Vegans and vegetarians, whose diets are high in both beans and greens, can enjoy those greens in a number of vegetarian substitutes that can replicate the effect of ham hocks in a dish.

Replacing Richness

One of the primary functions of a pork hock is to add richness to a dish. The bones, skin and connective tissue all contain natural gelatin, which adds body to broth or sauce and lends the beans or vegetables a pleasantly mouth-filling sensation. To compensate, use a flavorful vegetable broth in place of water as your cooking liquid. Caramelized onions or roasted garlic also add a rich and mellow flavor. If your dish includes a broth or sauce, replace the mouth-filling gelatin by mashing some of the beans or adding a small amount of cornstarch.

Seeking the Savory

Aside from the richness added by the gelatin in pork, its amino acids also contribute to the perception of savoriness in the dish, a characteristic called “umami” in Asian cooking. Fortunately, several vegetarian sources for similar amines can be effective, according to food science writer Harold McGee. Add diced or thinly sliced celery to the dish, or other amine-containing foods such as mushrooms, miso, soy sauce, crumbled sheets of nori or a yeast paste such as Vegemite or Marmite. Select one or more of these ingredients as appropriate for each dish.

Replacing the Smokiness

Pork hocks can be smoked or unsmoked, depending on the recipe used. Smoked hocks add a distinctive flavor note to any food they’re cooked with, and any substitution has to address this. Liquid smoke is both vegetarian-friendly and widely available, but sometimes adds an unpleasantly chemical flavor. Many barbecue sauces add a suitably smoky flavor, though, like liquid smoke, they’re less appealing to diners who avoid processed foods. A better alternative might be smoked paprika or chipotle peppers. Gourmet stores also carry many varieties of smoked salt, which adds a pleasantly ham-like flavor.

Replacing the Protein

The protein in pork hocks is usually a small part of the culinary equation, especially in dishes containing peas, beans or lentils. However, they’re often added to rice-based dishes or greens, and in those instances, a protein supplement might be appropriate. Grilled or stir-fried tofu is a widely available choice, and seitan, or “wheat meat,” can be found in many supermarkets and health food stores. Commercially prepared vegetarian sausage products can also be used to add protein and a suitable flavor.

Keyword Analysis

Keyword CPC PCC Volume Score Length of keyword
gelatin substitute 1.33 0.1 9643 31 18
gelatin 1.89 0.9 1875 24 7
substitute 1 0.1 1813 37 10

Keyword Research: People who searched gelatin substitute also searched

Keyword CPC PCC Volume Score
gelatin substitute 0.74 0.6 5473 52
gelatin substitute cornstarch 0.84 0.9 5888 47
gelatin substitutes for vegans 1.81 0.3 9819 81
gelatin substitute vegan 0.27 0.6 8155 98
gelatin substitute pectin 1.4 0.3 5554 77
gelatin substitute crossword 0.9 0.1 1516 69
gelatin substitute for eggs 0.72 0.6 6769 66
gelatin substitute for baking 0.01 0.3 6990 22
gelatin substitute in cooking 1.55 0.1 9582 75
gelatin substitute agar amount 1.31 0.7 4552 99
gelatin substitute for gummies 1.85 0.7 1180 96
gelatin substitute from seaweed 1.05 0.5 7366 45
gelatin substitute crossword clue 1.21 0.5 867 85
gelatin substitute made from seaweed 1.43 1 923 21

Search Results related to gelatin substitute on Search Engine

goodfoodfun.com

Pectin is another substitute for gelatin that you can use. It is natural and vegan. Pectin is commonly used in jams and jellies and also in yogurts. For this substitute to perform well, it needs sugar or acid to start the gelling process. Pectin is a good substitute for making foams and jellies and other recipes with the same consistency.

organicfacts.net

Gelatin substitutes are relatively easy to find and the consistency of gelatin is also easy to mimic. Although understanding the best gelatin substitutes is particularly important if you do a lot of baking! Gelatin Substitutes. Gelatin is a protein derived from the connective tissues of animals. It is used in cooking and baking, primarily as a thickener for liquids.

thekitchn.com

Gelatin is made from animal collagen, but if you’re a vegetarian or vegan, you can still make these delicious desserts. Here are three great gelatin alternatives and some tips on using them! Note: The substitution amounts given below are just a rule of thumb.

tastessence.com

Gelatin is a protein derived from the hydrolysis of the connective tissues of animals. It has found a wide range of applications in the manufacturing of food, cosmetics, and pharmaceuticals. Find out what can be used to substitute this product in a recipe, through this Tastessence write-up.

leaf.tv

Combine pectin and sugar to make a gelatin substitute. Pectin is the primary material that binds cell walls in fruit. Because of their chemical compositions, when pectin and sugar are warmed and blended, they form a gel. Arrowroot. Arrowroot is an herb that grows in rain forests. Like kudzu, its tuberous roots are harvested to produce a starchy .

authorityhealthmag.com

While using guar gum as a substitute for gelatin you need to adopt a different approach. For the gelatin substitution, use guar gum in a measure of 1/6 portion of gelatin supposed to be used in the recipe. This ratio may not be exact for all recipes, this need to be played around little to get the right consistency. Related Articles For You

spiceography.com

Gelatin powder is usually easy to find and easy to use; however, there are several reasons why you may not want to include it in your food.For example, the fact that it is made from animal cartilage and ligaments will rule it out as an ingredient for vegans. Try one of the gelatin powder substitutes below if you need an alternative that has similar properties.

wikihow.com

Use agar agar (kanten). Agar agar is a traditional substitute for gelatin in many recipes and basically it substitutes at a ratio of an equal amount of agar agar for gelatin when substituting like for like (that is powdered for powdered, etc). One tablespoon of powdered agar agar can be used in place of one tablespoon of powdered gelatin. The granulated form of agar agar is twice as strong as .

bhavnaskitchen.com

Agar is a popular gelatin substitute in quick jelly powder mix and prepared dessert gels that can be stored at room temperature. Compared to gelatin, agar preparations require a higher dissolving temperature, but the resulting gels congeal more quickly and remain solid at higher temperatures, 104 °F (40 °C), as opposed to 59 °F (15 °C) for .