Categories
Life hack

How to encrypt your mac’s time machine backup

Learn how to create a backup of the files on your Mac.

Use Time Machine, the built-in backup feature of your Mac, to automatically back up your personal data, including apps, music, photos, email, and documents. Having a backup allows you to recover files that were deleted, or that were lost because the hard disk (or SSD) in your Mac needed to be erased or replaced. Learn how to restore your Mac from a backup.

Create a Time Machine backup

To create backups with Time Machine, all you need is an external storage device. After you connect the storage device and select it as your backup disk, Time Machine automatically makes hourly backups for the past 24 hours, daily backups for the past month, and weekly backups for all previous months. The oldest backups are deleted when your backup disk is full.

Connect an external storage device

Connect one of the following external storage devices, sold separately. Learn more about backup disks that you can use with Time Machine.

  • External drive connected to your Mac, such as a USB or Thunderbolt drive
  • Network-attached storage (NAS) device that supports Time Machine over SMB
  • Mac shared as a Time Machine backup destination
  • AirPort Time Capsule, or external drive connected to an AirPort Time capsule or AirPort Extreme Base Station (802.11ac)

Select your storage device as the backup disk

  1. Open Time Machine preferences from the Time Machine menu in the menu bar. Or choose Apple menu  > System Preferences, then click Time Machine.
  2. Click Select Backup Disk.
    How to encrypt your mac’s time machine backup
  3. Select your backup disk from the list of available disks. To make your backup accessible only to users who have the backup password, you can select “Encrypt backups”. Then click Use Disk:
    How to encrypt your mac’s time machine backup

If the disk you selected isn’t formatted as required by Time Machine, you’re prompted to erase the disk first. Click Erase to proceed. This erases all information on the backup disk.

Enjoy the convenience of automatic backups

After you select a backup disk, Time Machine immediately begins making periodic backups—automatically and without further action by you. The first backup may take a long time, but you can continue using your Mac while a backup is underway. Time Machine backs up only the files that changed since the previous backup, so future backups will be faster.

To start a backup manually, choose Back Up Now from the Time Machine menu in the menu bar. Use the same menu to check the status of a backup or skip a backup in progress.

Learn more

  • Learn about other ways to back up and restore files
  • If you back up to multiple disks, you can press and hold the Option key, then choose Browse Other Backup Disks from the Time Machine menu.
  • To exclude items from your backup, open Time Machine preferences, click Options, then click the add (+) button to add an item to be excluded. To stop excluding an item, such as an external hard drive, select the item and click the remove (–) button.
  • If using Time Machine to back up to a network disk, you can verify those backups to make sure they’re in good condition. Press and hold Option, then choose Verify Backups from the Time Machine menu.

Information about products not manufactured by Apple, or independent websites not controlled or tested by Apple, is provided without recommendation or endorsement. Apple assumes no responsibility with regard to the selection, performance, or use of third-party websites or products. Apple makes no representations regarding third-party website accuracy or reliability. Contact the vendor for additional information.

Безопасность резервных копий зависит от источника резервного копирования: Time Capsule, другого сетевого диска или диска, подключенного непосредственно к компьютеру Mac.

Шифрование диска резервного копирования

Лучший способ обеспечения безопасности резервных копий — это шифрование диска для резервных копий. При включении шифрования Time Capsule или сетевого диска для резервных копий существующие резервные копии стираются и создаются новые наборы шифрованных резервных копий. При переключении локально подключенных дисков (например, внешнего диска) в режим шифрования резервных копий данные сохраняются и шифруются.

Если требуется перейти от нешифрованных резервных копий к шифрованным, необходимо удалить диск для резервного копирования, затем снова настроить его. Выполните следующие шаги:

На Mac выберите меню Apple

> «Системные настройки», затем нажмите «Time Machine».

Нажмите «Выбрать диск» или «Добавить или удалить резервный диск» (если у Вас несколько дисков для резервного копирования).

Выберите резервный диск и нажмите «Удалить диск».

Настройте диск заново в качестве шифруемого резервного диска.

Защита Time Capsule или другого сетевого диска

Если Вы выполняете резервное копирование на диск, которым пользуются несколько человек, например на Time Capsule или другой сетевой диск, учтите, что при определенных обстоятельствах другие пользователи могут получить доступ к Вашим резервным копиям.

Пароль сетевого диска, используемого для резервных копий Time Machine, должен быть известен только администратору или другому доверенному пользователю. Любой пользователь, знающий пароль, может получить доступ к данным любых резервных копий на этом диске, независимо от того, кто является владельцем этих данных. Если резервная копия зашифрована, она защищена от пользователей и сетевых администраторов, которые знают пароль к сетевому диску, но не знают пароля шифрования резервной копии.

Не копируйте важные данные на сетевой диск, если Вы не доверяете сетевым администраторам, контролирующим диск. Вместо этого выберите для хранения резервных копий диск, который находится под Вашим контролем, например внешний диск, подключенный к Вашему компьютеру Mac.

Для безопасности при резервном копировании на Time Capsule администратор может создать индивидуальные учетные записи на устройстве Time Capsule. Каждая учетная запись имеет собственный сетевой том и пароль. Если Вы выполняете резервное копирование на собственный том учетной записи Time Capsule, другие пользователи не могут получить доступ к резервным копиям, если им неизвестен Ваш пароль.

Примечание. Устройство Time Capsule, настроенное с индивидуальными учетными записями, содержит общий том. В качестве диска для резервного копирования необходимо выбирать собственный том, используя имя учетной записи и инструкции, предоставленные администратором. Общий том предназначен только для информации, доступной всем пользователям.

Защита диска, подключенного непосредственно к компьютеру Mac

Если Вы выполняете резервное копирование на внешний диск и не используете шифрование, любой пользователь, к которому попадет этот диск, сможет прочитать любые сохраненные на нем данные. Обязательно защитите диск резервного копирования физически и храните его в безопасном месте, чтобы предотвратить к нему доступ ненадежных пользователей.

Worried about the security of your Mac’s backups? If you use Apple’s Time Machine, built into the fabric of OS X, you can put those worries at rest – because Apple has a way of encrypting your Time Machine backups automatically! What’s more, setup is extremely simple – all you have to do is tick a checkbox!

Here’s how it’s done:

How to encrypt your mac’s time machine backup

To enable encryption on a NEW Time Machine backup, just connect the drive to your Mac, open the Time Machine system preference panel, select the drive as your backup destination, and click “Encrypt Backups.”

If you already have a Time Machine backup, you can still enable encryption after the fact. Just follow these steps:

How to encrypt your mac’s time machine backup

  • Open up the Time Machine pane in System Preferences.
  • Next, turn off Time Machine, then click the “Select Disk…” button.
  • Remove your current backup disk.
  • Then, simply select the disk as your backup once again, and check the “Encrypt Backups” option and enter a password for the backup. Apple will now encrypt the entire backup drive – including your previous backups.
  • Finally, turn Time Machine back on, and you’re all set!

Note: The ability to encrypt Time Machine backups is only available on OS X Lion 10.7.4 or later, and the ability to encrypt entire existing drive is only available on OS X Mountain Lion or later.

You will need OS X Lion 10.7.4 or OS X Mountain Lion 10.8 or newer to have the backup encryption option available, though the ability to encrypt existing drives only comes with Mountain Lion onward.

For more helpful tips for your Apple devices, check out our full collection of tutorials by visiting our How-To category!

There has been a critical error on this website.